Hide
Раскрыть

Nikolay Pilnik 1, Stanislav Radionov 1, Artem Yazykov 1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

The Optimal Behavior Model of the Modern Russian Banking System

2018. Vol. 22. No. 3. P. 418–447 [issue contents]

The paper describes the new version of the model of the Russian banking system, which successfully reproduces a wide set of parameters characterizing its performance: loans and deposits of firms and households, liquidity nominated both in rubles and in foreign currency, mandatory reserves. We describe the technique of derivation of model relations, which includes the statement of the problem of macroeconomic agent “bank”. This problem is based on the maxi­mization of discounted flow of profit subject to budget constraint, balance of loans and deposits, liquidity constraints and reserve sufficiency requirements. The paper contains the system of equations which describes the solution of the problem. We provide a detailed description of transition of continuous to discrete time and the new approach to the relaxation of complementary slackness conditions based on the assumption that the model exhibits a turnpike property.

Apart from the standard approach to the parameter estimation for this class of models, we apply a method of multi-step forecasting. We show that the standard method of estimations allows to closely reproduce the historic series but leads to the poor quality of forecasts. The method of multi-step forecasting, on the other hand, successfully reproduces historic series and also leads to rather accurate forecasts. We compared it with standard econometric techniques and show that the model with parameters obtained via multi-step forecast method provides somewhat better forecasts than ARIXAM and much better ones than AR, ARIMA, VAR and VARX. We also show that then we use multi-step forecasting method, optimal values of parameters are about the same for different intervals of estimation and different lengths of forecasts (from one to six months). Such a stability of parameters makes us think that the model reproduces long-term relations of variables and can be used for forecasting and scenario analysis.

The model can be used for the evaluation of reaction of the banking system on the monetary policy, external constraints of different kind and the general condition of the economy. The model can be used as a block of a bigger general equilibrium model of the Russian economy.
Citation: Pilnik N., Radionov S., Yazykov A. (2018) Model' optimal'nogo povedeniya sovremennoy rossiyskoy bankovskoy sistemy [The Optimal Behavior Model of the Modern Russian Banking System]. HSE Economic Journal , vol. 22, no 3, pp. 418-447 (in Russian)
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть

Пильник Н. П. 1, Радионов С. А. 1, Языков А. А. 1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Модель оптимального поведения современной российской банковской системы

2018. Т. 22. № 3. С. 418–447 [содержание номера]

В статье описана модель банковской системы России, успешно воспроизводящая широкий набор показателей, характеризующих ее деятельность, – кредиты и депозиты фирм и домохозяйств, ликвидность, номинированные в рублях и в иностранной валюте, обязательные резервы. Описана методика вывода соотношений модели, включающая постановку оптимизационной задачи макроагента «банк». В задаче предполагается максимизация приведенного потока прибыли при бюджетном ограничении, балансов отдельных кредитов и депозитов, ограничений ликвидности и требовании достаточности резервов. В статье приводится система уравнений, описывающая решение этой задачи. Подробно описан переход от непрерывного времени к дискретному, новый подход к смягчению условий дополняющей нежесткости, ос­нованный на предположении о наличии в модели магистрального свойства.

Помимо стандартного для моделей такого класса подхода, к оценке параметров модели применен метод многошаговых прогнозов (multi-step fore­casting). Показано, что стандартный метод оценки позволяет достаточно точно воспроизвести исторические ряды, но дает невысокое качество прог­нозов. Метод многошаговых прогнозов, с другой стороны, успешно воспроизводит исторические ряды и дает достаточно точные прогнозы. Проведено сравнение со стандартными эконометрическими конструкциями и показано, что модель с параметрами, полученными методом многошаговых прог­нозов, строит прогнозы несколько лучше, чем ARIMAX и значительно лучше, чем AR, ARIMA, VAR, VARX. Показано также, что при поиске параметров модели методом многошаговых прогнозов оптимальные значения оказываются примерно одинаковыми для разных интервалов оценивания и для разных длин прогноза (от одного до шести месяцев). Такая устойчивость параметров дает нам основания считать, что модель воспроизводит долгосрочные соотношения модельных переменных и может быть использована для прогнозирования и сценарного анализа.

Модель может быть использована для оценки реакции банковской системы на проводимую денежно-кредитную политику, различные внешние ог­раничения и общее состояние экономики, а также как блок более общей модели общего равновесия экономики России.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss